Darius Kipyego Earns RI Gatorade Player Of The Year Honors

Watch Kipyego's 1:51.59 at the Desert Dream Invitational (AZ)

St. Raphael Academy junior Darius Kipyego has earned Rhode Island's Gatorade Player of the Year Honors for the 2019-2020 track & field season.

As a sophomore Kipyego placed 2nd at the USATF U20 Championships and went on to run 1:49.46 for 2nd place at the U20 Pan-American Games.  

Though his junior season was cut short he was able to run Rhode Island State Leads of 1:19.65 and 1:52.55 good for US#3 and US#5 Nationally in the 600m and 800m.  He holds a US#4 mark in the 800m of 1:51.59 run a few weeks back at the Desert Dream Invitational in Arizona.

"The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the field, distinguishes Kipyego as Rhode Island's best high school boys track & field athlete."

Press Release

Though the season was cut short, Kipyego will have a final year of high school to reach his full potential.

Kipyego joins Neil Butler (1989 winner) as the two St. Rapheal Academy Rhode Island Gatorade Track & Field Players of the year.  Both achieved this honor from their success in middle distance events.

Rhode Island Track & Field Gatorade Players Of The Year

1985-1986 - Bruce Guiot, Classical, Throws
1986-1987 - Robert Allen, Cumberland, Hammer
1987-1988 - Paul Kortick, Classical, Hammer
1988-1989 - Neil Butler, St. Rapheal Academy, Middle Distance
1989-1990 - Wayne Newsom, Hope, Middle Distance
1990-1991 - Carl Ricci, La Salle Academy, Throws
1991-1992 - Delon Gomes, Hope, Sprints
1992-1993 - Mark McGehearty, Classical, Throws
1993-1994 - Robert Howard, Shea, Jumps
1994-1995 - Sean Flynn, Pilgrim, Hammer
1995-1996 - Matt Kavanagh, Warwick Veterans Memorial, Hammer
1996-1997 - Vinny Tortorella, Classical, Throws
1997-1998 - Vinny Tortorella, Classical, Throws
1998-1999 - Jacob Freeman, Bishop Hendricken, Throws
1999-2000 - Josh McCaughey, Bishop Hendricken, Throws
2000-2001 - Ian Brewer, North Kingstown, Throws
2001-2002- Bobby Young, Mt. Pleasant, Sprints
2002-2003 - Yudehweh Gbaa, Hope, Hurdles, Jumps
2003-2004 - Yudehweh Gbaa, Hope, Hurdles, Jumps
2004-2005 - Matthew Maloney, La Salle Academy, Throws
2005-2006 - Tom Webb, Dishop Hendricken, Distance
2006-2007 - Jake Keeling, Ponaganset, Throws
2007-2008 - Andrew Springer, Westerly, Distance
2008-2009 - Andrew Springer, Westerly, Distance
2009-2010 - Kadeem Kushimo, La Salle Academy, Sprints
2010-2011 - Jarell Forbes, Classical, Hurdles
2011-2012 - Joe Velez, Classical, Throws
2012-2013 - Charlie Ionata, Barrington, Throws
2013-2014 - Adam Kelly, Barrington, Throws
2014-2015 - Jack Salisbury, La Salle Academy, Distance
2015-2016 - Bobby Colantonio, Barrington, Throws
2016-2017 - DJ Principe, La Salle Academy, Distance
2017-2018 - Jeffery Pedersen, East Greenwich, Distance
2018-2019 - Conor Murphy, Classical, Middle Distance
2019-2020 - Darius Kipyego, St. Raphael Academy, Middle Distance